The Commonwealth Fencing Federation has a number of Commissions and Working Groups to manage particular issues:

Technical Commission

The Technical Commission is the standing body of the CFF that:

  • Rules on interpretation of rules.
  • Recommends to the Executive and/or Congress changes in the rules for the better running of CFF Events.
  • As per handbook, forms the DT at CFF Events.
  • Is empowered to make emergency changes to the rules to ensure the smooth running of an event – but these changes shall only be temporary for that event, unless subsequently ratified by Congress.

The Commission consists of:

  • Helen Smith AM(ex-Officio as President)
  • Ian Hunter (Scotland)
  • Denise Dapre (Australia)
  • Marie-France Dufour (Canada)
  • Martha Bernstein (Jersey)
  • Sanjay Pradhan (India)

Veteran Commission

The Commonwealth Veterans Fencing Association was wound up at a meeting in Largs. In its place, veteran fencing will be the responsibility of the Veteran Commission of the CFF.

John Crouch has been elected as its chairma of the new Commission, and he would be pleased to hear from any fencers who have suggestions about improving the running of future event: he can be contacted at

There will be a meeting of the commission in July 2015, at which we hope to agree the way ahead.

Commission for the Re-entry of Fencing to the Commonwealth Games

This Commission carried out a survey of members in 2004: the responses were strongly in favour of seeking re-entry to the Games program.

Download survey results (.pdf document) Survey Results

The Commission consists of:

  • Helen Smith (ex-Officio as President)
  • Stephen Symons (Canada)
  • Yinka Finyian (Nigeria)
  • Arun Vij (India)
  • Marie-France Dufour (Canada)
  • Peter Andersen (Australia)